Kwara In Brief.

The present Kwara State with Ilorin as the State capital, was created through the patriotic zeal and dogged efforts of the duo of Late Chief J. S. Olawoyin and Alhaji A.G.F. AbdulRazaq (SAN).

After 29th July, 1966 coup, Gen. Hassan Usman Kastina, the then Military Governor of the Northern Nigeria convened a meeting of leaders of thoughts in Kaduna. Chief J. S. Olawoyin and Alhaji A.G.F. AbdulRazaq (SAN) were invited to represent Ilorin Province at the meeting.

It was at one of the sessions of the meeting that Chief J. S. Olawoyin moved a motion that both Ilorin and Kabba province be merged and created as a state with headquarters at Ilorin instead of Lokoja. The motion was seconded by Alhaji A.G.F. AbdulRazaq.

On 27th May, 1967, Kwara was created as Central West State. The name was later changed to Kwara State. Major D. L. Bamigboye from Irepodun Local Government Area was then appointed as the first Military Governor.

The question is; if any of the state owned establishment is to be named after our heroes past in Kwara, what qualifies Dr. Olusola Saraki better than the great men mentioned in the history above?


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: